Work experience

Keanu Estrada
3 min readJul 31, 2021

--

A job is a job no matter what. It’s work and I gotta eat.

Working for the Warriors has always been my dream job.

I didn’t think about jobs until I was 20.

It wasn’t really a job, it was a stipend. As an Orientation Team Member, I learned that people gravitate towards personal experience, and that is not only a way to connect with incoming college freshmen, but our whole orientation team, as well.

HipHopforChange was the first organization to give me a chance, despite not having any real work experience, a non-profit; 9 months after college. 9–5. As a canvasser, I openly talked to people shopping for groceries about racism. I quit after meeting the quota. Reasoning: Mental health

I told my brother that working at Whole Foods is my dream job.

I knew I had to make a change, so I dyed my hair blonde.

I was only supposed to have one interview that day, but I got a second interview.

I got the job. I really wanted to test out; if I went blonde, could I get this job at Whole Foods? I did.

“I’ll like to offer you the position…”

I think the night shift enjoyed when I was on schedule; accommodated schedule, btw.

As a dishwasher, I didn’t have to deal with customers much.

In March 2020, I was terminated.

#StayHome, slow the spread, and flatten the curve.

As a Census Enumerator, I helped people complete the census. I quit after my 1st day, it was an easy decision. Easiest $800 paycheck for a week of practicing using the app. Also, I felt accomplished after I finished one census for a family, and that was enough for me. ❤

Next, I applied to be a Poll Worker for the 2020 election.

I got accepted but I would rather #StayHome.

In September 2020, Amazon was hiring shoppers. As a Prime Shopper, I sometimes had to interact with former co-workers (Whole Foods team members). It’s a side hustle; part-time. I had a full-time job as a dishwasher, $15.50 per hour. Did I mess up? Nah, I was gonna be out in a year anyway. That was my plan, then the pandemic happened…

Sometimes, I think to myself at one point, I was making more money than all my co-workers (Prime shoppers) by 25 cents, as a dishwasher (Whole Foods). Then, I think to myself, who cares? We are all working-class, here.

Grocery workers are essential.

In April 2021, Nordstrom warehouse hired me. I was hired to work inbound. I got job accommodations. Had the easiest job in the warehouse, special projects; cutting product out the plastic, and placing it in containers. I was eliminating essential job functions though; it couldn’t last forever, so employee relations gave me two options to transfer or resign; so I transferred. I went to orientation as a cashier, then resigned before working as a cashier at Nordstrom Rack.

I choose to work for the Warriors over opportunities with companies like Apple or Tesla, which pay more.

--

--